Song Of The Day: Tool – Aenema

I had hoped to have a few really awesome picture-overdose posts for you guys, but unfortunately the camera and I couldn’t really get along and I had to return it. There’s a replacement coming in soon, but until then I’m just gonna stick to “the usual” ;) So today it’s time for another Song Of The Day;


I only “discovered” Tool 3 or 4 years ago, but it’s been love at first… Ear, I guess. Hypnotizing music, wonderful voice, amazing lyrics… I guess there’s hardly anything not to love, although honestly, the videos tend to freak me out a little.

It’s been pretty hard to pick a song for today, but I decided on Aenema because of this small part of the lyrics in particular:


Fret for your figure and
Fret for your latte and
Fret for your hairpiece and
Fret for your lawsuit and
Fret for your prozac and
Fret for your pilot and
Fret for your contract and
Fret for your car

It’s a
Bullshit
Three ring
Circus sideshow of
Freaks

We (as in, people in general) really tend to fret about bullshit. It’s ridiculous, don’t you think? I spent half of my day today being annoyed over a few freakin’ split ends! I mean… What the hell.

This song (and again, those lyrics in particular) has actually inspired me to write one of my first posts ever. Reading it back I find that it’s pretty silly how my self-consciousness has changed compared to when I wrote it. I guess it’s all those stick figures I’m working with these days! Damn.

Anyway… This isn’t supposed to turn into a rant about how fat I feel and what condition my hair is in, so let’s just get back to the subject. Right… Awesome song, awesome lyrics.

What do you think of the song and/or lyrics? And what are the silly things you fret about?

Thanks so much for reading and listening, I hope you’ve enjoyed!

Love,

ML-X

5 responses to “Song Of The Day: Tool – Aenema

  1. Strong and truthful lyrics. We certainly fret too much over the small stuff. I try not to worry at all anymore, but I continue to worry about my kids. I guess I always will.

    • Wow, I didn’t even know that was even possible! But if the kids are the only thing you worry about you’re doing a great job :) And I don’t think it’s possible to stop worrying about them, it’s like a super-mom-instinct thing… Which a lot of people lack in the first place! So as far as I’m concerned it’s a good thing, really.

  2. Love this fucking song. Seriously. As you know. Also, dont feel like that. Its silly as you said. Youre not. And why bring the camera back!!?!?

    • I know hon, great to see you here btw. Got me a little worried!

      Wish there was a button to make me stop feeling like it, but alas. Maybe you should go on and invent one… Sounds like a Nobel prize winner!

      Camera was returned because pics were crappy and hazy. Might have one of them in my next post (if I decide to post it, not sure yet), so you’ll see for yourself. New one is in. It’s freakin’ PURPLE. And it takes great pics :) So all settled now.

Share Your Thoughts!

