Holy Mother Of Covers: III – Like A G6

I’m still in my computer-related cleanup mode, and I found more awesomeness! Perfect timing, because it’s been a while since I shared an insanely cool cover version with you all.

Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you one of the sexiest things I’ve ever heard:

I can rant about how much I love this version for hours, but I won’t. I love the “dark” way it sounds, and Major’s deep voice, and just the way he “simplified” the song. And of course, I love the “old-school” vibe it has to it now.

Now, let’s compare Major’s cover with the original version by Far East Movement:

I have to admit that I never disliked Far East Movement’s original version. In fact, I can honestly say that I like it. The beat is great, and it’s very dance-able, which is very important to me – an enjoyable song either has to have great lyrics, or make me cry, sing or dance.

The original also brings back some fond memories, one of which is when at a party at my former job, one of my old colleagues sincerely stated that she wasn’t drunk, but kept yelling “actin’ like they drunk!” whenever she thought it fit. This lasted for several days after said party, so I guess you can imagine how hilarious it is when you’re working and somebody goes “actin’ like they drunk!” all of a sudden. I believe that was on the last weekend me and le man went on a little trip together, which makes for the rest of the good memories. Damn, I miss those times.

So… Enough ranting. I’m not sure if I can pick a favourite here! Which one do you prefer? And why?

Thanks for reading, hope you’ve enjoyed, and I’m looking forward to your comments!

Love,

ML-X

2 responses to “Holy Mother Of Covers: III – Like A G6

Share Your Thoughts!

