A New Beginning

So… Today was my second day at my new job. And I have to say, so far, I’m enjoying it! The first day was pretty standard; meeting everybody and failing at remembering all the names and departments, getting a small tour through the company and all that. Hell, I didn’t even have a desk or PC for myself yet! In fact, they didn’t quite know what they were going to do with me, so I spent the rest of the day just looking at what another girl was doing. Today, however, was much better; I started early (7:30am), confiscated a desk/PC combo for myself and simply… Worked. Did I master what the part-time receptionist girls have been working on for the last month in just one day? Yes, I did. Yay me!

To be honest, I had expected to have a hard time learning to work with their system. I’ve worked with two different ones in my previous job, so I’ve got the basics, but I didn’t expect to encounter anything like their system: the supermegaoldschool, IBM’s MS-DOS inspired AS/400! I couldn’t believe my eyes. Goodbye tabs, goodbye overview, goodbye interpunction, goodbye colours, and hello black-and-green blast from the past. Hey, the 80’s called…

But like everything else, even this oldfashioned thing has its pro’s: the functionality is so limited, that it’s actually pretty hard to fuck something up! So I guess that’s a good thing :) Plus, the damn thing has a “reset” button. Probably just because that old stuff crashes way too much, but it’s still kind of awesome.

As for my colleagues… Well, the fifties called for most of them, if you catch my drift… But they’re fun, don’t take themselves too seriously, and of course I’m impressed by the ridiculous amounts of knowledge most of them have. So all good! Even the “downstairs” girls are okay, except for one, but she’ll have to take that stick out of her ass by herself. I’m there to work and learn, not to make friends.

Today, I did learn why people might dislike R.. Don’t get me wrong, he’s a nice enough guy, but seriously, I get it. After I kinda figured out their system wasn’t up to date at all (being based on, for example, purchase prices from 2005!), I proposed to enter all the new prices that we got from orderconfirmations, so that at least those things wouldn’t make a mess any more. He then spent two hours telling me exactly the same. He could have just agreed, but nooo, that would be too easy. So instead, despite telling me numerous times already that he hardly has time for his own work, he wastes more time telling me what I already know. But I’ll just keep listening, because I’ve already figured out yesterday that he knows *a lot*. And he’s willing to show me, even if it’s none of my concerns. So as long as he keeps feeding my hunger for knowledge, I’ll play along.

In short, I’m having a good time over there. And I think there’s a good chance that I’d like to spend a few years there. There is one little downside though; I’ve been “out of rhythm” for a while now, so by the time I get home, I’m dog tired! So I’m off to do some couch yoga now, but I’ll try to write (and read) as much as I can nevertheless :)

Thanks for sticking with me!

Love,

ML-X

4 responses to “A New Beginning

  1. Wow, I’m impressed. Go, ML-X! As far as the girl goes, your attitude is right on. As far as R goes, he’s insecure and needs to be humored, so good decision there too. Maybe down the line, he will trust you enough to simply “agree.”

    • Thank you, Linnea! I was kind of impressed myself; I’m a quick study but this was really crazy quick. I do hope you’re right about R., although he seems more arrogant than insecure to me… But we’ll see :) In the worst case, I’ll just have to be patient until he retires, haha.

Share Your Thoughts!

