Song Of The Day: Incubus – Under My Umbrella

Discovering new music is a bit of a hobby for me, and a while ago, a friend of mine introduced me to this song:

Now I’ve never been into Incubus, but this song… Wow. I have to admit that at first, the title put me off. It reminded me of… Yep, Rihanna. But after the first listen, I was sold! The music, the voice, the lyrics… THE LYRICS!

When I close my eyes
I can see for miles
There’s comfort in my dark seat,
And chaos in the aisles

These eyes are not your eyes
And these eyes are not the color that
Your arid eyes might be
No, I was not around
When those eyes of yours decided so
I refuse to kneel before the sights you choose to see

When I close my eyes
I remember why I smile
Under my umbrella
I’m an accomplished exile

These eyes are not your eyes
And these eyes are not the color that
Your arid eyes might be
No, I was not around
When those eyes of yours decided so
I refuse to kneel before the sights you choose to see

If this is right, I’d rather be wrong
If this is sight, I’d rather be blind

These eyes are not your eyes
And these eyes are not the color that
Your arid eyes might be
No, I was not around
When those eyes of yours decided so
I refuse to kneel before the sights you choose to see

If this is right, I’d rather be wrong
If this is sight, I’d rather be blind

I usually love songs with good lyrics, and these are… Well, maybe a little weird, but I love them. The first line -or actually the first two- are genius. So genius in fact, that my friend’s probably get them tattooed! But mostly, they got me thinking. And I love it when songs/books/people get me thinking!

Pfff… I could babble about this song for ages, but I really ought to get ready for the interview. Luckily I’ve found my huge umbrella (in case you were wondering why I picked this song today, blame the umbrella!) so maybe the rain won’t give me that lovely “drowned kitten” look. Yay.

Hope you’ve enjoyed the song, and feel free to share your thoughts/other songs/anything!

Love,

ML-X

Share Your Thoughts!

