Useless Talents: HTMLove!

It’s been a little bit over a month since I lost my job, and I’ve been quite bored. It’s not that I don’t have anything to do, but I felt so darn useless. So I decided that it was time to learn something new. I’ve always been a bit of a geek, so I guess in a way it makes sense that I’ve started to learn… HTML.  Now I do have a little programming experience; back when I was in college we had to program experiments in Eprime, which has a similar syntax (at least, for me), so I figured it couldn’t be all that hard.

Because I didn’t want to have to go to school or whatever, I looked around on the Internet a little and found there’s a few ways to play with HTML. You can use a website making program like Dreamweaver or Frontpage, but I figured I really want to know how HTML works so I went “oldschool” and just used Notepad. And so far it’s been going pretty well. I actually made two (super basic) pages on my first try, with the first linking to the second. And I have to tell you that I haven’t been that proud of myself for ages!

I’m super excited now that I’ve started this and I can hardly wait until I have learned all the basics, so that I can make a pretty page which might even be pretty enough to show off to you guys! And hell, mastering HTML might even help out a little with the jobhunt thing. Who knows… If nothing else, I’ve acquired a new skill, and that’s good enough for me.

Have you ever poked around HTML or other markup/programming languages? Or is there anything you would like to learn, useless or not?

Thanks for reading!

Love,

ML-X

Share Your Thoughts!

