Annoyances: Part IV – Shopping Queens

I’ve been watching a lot of TV lately, and I’ve noticed that there’s a ridiculous amount of stupid shit being broadcasted these days. One is a show called Shopping Queens. Each week, five different “girls” get a shopping assignment from a stylist called Fred van Leer. He gives them a theme (e.g. a high tea party where our princess Máxima will be), and they have 3 hours and €400,- to put together an outfit to go with that theme. In itself, this isn’t a bad concept, were it not that a lot of the participants in this show, as well as this Fred guy, are idiots. Let’s take a closer look at our so-called stylist:

Fred van Leer

A pink blazer over a denim jacket over a dress shirt? And don't even get me started on those fug shoes. (Pic found through my friend Google)

Am I the only one who can’t take this guy seriously? And guess what… It gets worse! He’s a mean ass bitch as well. I guess that’s part of the show, being the “mean gay stylist”, but really… He should consider taking a look in the mirror if you ask me.

Now I’m not saying that I’m the Mother of all Style; I do my own thing and I like it like that. And sometimes, there’s a contestant on the show that does exactly the same and keeps close to her own style, twisting it to fit the assignment. I guess not everybody wants to look like a freakin’ clone project. And what does Fred do? Bitch about it. Together with the other contestants.

Two days ago, one of the contestants bought all her items at thrift stores, because she has a certain vintage style of her own. Part of her outfit was a pair of culottes (a sort of hybrid between a skirt and trousers), which is something the other oh-so-stylish contestants had never seen before, and of course, Fred totally bashed her look. That made me wonder; when did having style mean that you had to do everything a certain way? Isn’t the epitome of having style doing things the way you like them and looking great while doing so? Truthfully speaking, I wouldn’t have put on that girl’s outfit if my life depended on it because it’s not my thing (and short people like me shouldn’t wear culottes), but she rocked the hell out of it, and made it work.

Sure, there’s a lot of serial fashion faux pas committers out there, and I’ll probably post about that too, but you can’t make a show on style and then verbally abuse every contestant who actually has a style of their own and picks something you wouldn’t wear. Style is what makes us different. And bashing those who have it, isn’t stylish at all, my dear Fred.

What’s your definition of style? Do you like to play safe and go with the flow? Or do you just like to go crazy and do your own thing?

Thanks for reading and commenting!

Love,

ML-X

Share Your Thoughts!

