Newsflash: Fashion Police Win!

Usually, I don’t really like the news because it’s pretty much always murder, politics and other bad/not interesting stuff. But this morning I came across an item that amused me so much, that I had to share it with you! Check it out;

In Prattville, Alabama, LaMarcus D. Ramsey was given a three-day jail sentence on Tuesday for contempt of court because his blue jeans were sagging too low.

Ramsey was in Autauga County Circuit Court to enter a plea on a charge of receiving stolen property, but Circuit Judge John Bush took exception Ramsey’s pants: “You are in contempt of court because you showed your butt in court.”

“You can spend three days in jail. When you get out you can buy pants that fit, or at least get a belt to hold up your pants so your underwear doesn’t show.”

(source)

Is this shit ridiculous or what? Now I have to say, I have a strong dislike for wearing your pants like that, it just looks awful, and I fully agree with the judge’s decision to put him in jail ;) But people do it freakin’ everywhere! Here in The Netherlands we call it “wearing your pants at 6:30”, since 6:30 is when the clock’s hands are at the lowest (although I think that 5:30 isn’t that much different).

This article also reminded me of an old colleague of mine, with whom I’ve worked for a while around three years ago. When I started working there, people were calling him “pants” all the time, and it took me a while to figure it out… But when I did, I was traumatized for life. How did I finally discover why they called him that? He bent over for some reason. In front of me. And all I saw was a huge, red… Ass. Oh yeah, “pants” was a “6:30 meets tight and colourful Björn Borg underwear” kind of man. Unfortunately, he was a tad overweight as well. They say “what has been seen, cannot be unseen” for a reason… :( And ever since, I’ve had a huge dislike for both 6:30 pants and Björn Borg undies.

What do you think of this guy’s fashion crime? Is it really worth punishment, or can you come up with something worse?

Thanks for reading!

Love,

ML-X

Share Your Thoughts!

